Father Daughter Bonding

here is a song that just popped into my head. the radio can be a wonderful thing…it’s one i remember both me and my dad singing in the car around town laughing all the way. well, we only knew the chorus but…good times good times.

 

Shaddap You Face 

 

(verse:)
When I was a boy, just about-a eighth-a grade,
mama used to say, don’t-a stay out late,
with the bad-a boys, always shoot-a pool,
gonna flunk-a school.
 

 

Boy, it make-a me sick, all the things I gotta do.
can’t-a getta no kicks, always gotta follow rules,
boy, it make-a me sick, just-a make a lousy bucks,
I gotta feel like a fool. (and mama used to say:)
 

 

(chorus:)
What’sa matta you, hey,
Gotta no respect, whatta you think you do,
Why you looka so sad?
It’s-a not so bad, it’s-a nice-a place,
Ah, Shaddap You Face.
 

 

(verse:)
Soon-a come-a day, gonna be-a big-a star,
Gonna make a movies, buy a nice-a car,
but still-a be myself, I’m-a never change a thing,
always dance and sing. (’cause I remember mama used to say:)
 

 

(chorus:)
What’sa matta you, hey,
Gotta no respect, whatta you think you do,
Why you looka so sad?
It’s-a not so bad, it’s-a nice-a place,
Ah, Shaddap You Face.
 

 

(talking section)
Hello, everybody, that’s out there in radio and television land.
Did you know I had a bit hit song in Italy with this: ‘Shaddap You Face’?
I sing this song and all my fans applaud, they clap their hands, that make me feel so good.
You ought to learn this song, It’s really simple –
I sing: ‘Whatsa Matta You?” You sing: ‘Hey!”
, you sing the rest and at the end, we can all sing ‘Ah, shaddap You Face!’
Ok Let’s try it, really big –
Uno, Duo, Tre, Quatro:”
 

 

(chorus:)
What’sa matta you, hey,
Gotta no respect, whatta you think you do,
Why you looka so sad?
It’s-a not so bad, it’s-a nice-a place,
Ah, Shaddap You Face.

~ by gypsyfirechicklet on May 22, 2008.

One Response to “Father Daughter Bonding”

  1. What’sa matta, you? Hey! You gotta no new blog posts! 🙂 (I love that song. I’ve got it as an mp3.)

    It was great to see you the other night. Been missing your moves and your smiling face. Wasn’t Brothers of the Baladi incredible? Michael Beach is one fantastic drummer. I wanna be like him when I grow up! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
